ESG & Sustainable Finance

ESG & Sustainable Finance

Sustainability is playing an increasingly important role in the financial sector. More than anything else, three simple letters represent this development: ESG – Environment, Social & Governance.The Competence Center ESG/Sustainable Finance advises financial institutions on ESG issues, i.e. environmental, social and legal as well as self-defined organisational framework conditions. In addition to topics such as portfolio management and risk management, the focus is on consulting for regulatory requirements with a strong impact on the data, processes and systems of the financial institution.

Examples include sustainability reporting, CRR disclosure or the expansion of risk management to include new requirements such as stress tests and scenario analyses.

The Competence Center ESG/Sustainable Finance would gladly support customers in this starting from project management to technical and IT-technical conception, the adaptation of the existing IT landscape to the ongoing run-and-change of ESG applications.


Regulatory & Reporting

As part of the EU action plan “Sustainable Finance”, additional reporting obligations for companies were introduced through regulatory measures. Not only will existing reporting obligations be tightened, but new ones will also be created.

The Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) significantly extends the existing rules for non-financial reporting by companies. In addition to extending the reporting obligation to all larger companies in the EU and all capital market-oriented companies (except for very small companies), the CSRD also includes tightening of the content to be reported, e.g. the double materiality aspect (double materiality).

EU taxonomy is a classification tool that can be used to classify economic activities as sustainable if certain technical parameters are met. The objective is to create a Europe-wide uniform definition of sustainable economic activities in order to create transparency for investors.

Based on sustainability-related requirements and disclosure obligations for financial institutions, investors are given the opportunity to make better informed decisions. Since March 2021, financial institutions are therefore obliged to disclose specific environmental, social and governance (ESG) indicators in order to make different financial products comparable.

The CRR regulation contains various regulatory requirements for banks. In addition to regulations on equity and liquidity, the European Banking Authority (EBA) will also require the disclosure of environmental, social and governance risks (ESG) as part of Pillar 3 of the regulation from 2022 as part of CRR II. You can find more on the subject of CRR II in the Competence Center Regulatory Reporting.

Starting January 1st, 2023 companies will be required to create transparency along their supply chain by the German Supply Chain Due Diligence Law (LkSG). Primary goal of the law is the protection of human rights, e.g. the elimination of child labor or forced labor. Therefore, companies have to submit their business partners an intensive risk check. The targens solution JARDIN supports them in doing so.

ESG Risk Management

The classic risk management in the company is currently undergoing a transformation. Various methods are used to attempt to integrate risks resulting from sustainability factors and thus make the financial effects of sustainability risks tangible.

In particular, stress tests can include sensitivity and scenario analyses to examine the company's resilience to adverse events or scenarios caused by physical and transitory risks. Based on plausible future developments, various organisations are working on climate-related stress tests that should be used by individual companies.

Transition risks exist in connection with the transition to a low-carbon economy. For example, political measures can lead to an increase in the price and/or shortage of fossil fuels or to high investment costs due to the necessary renovation of buildings and systems. New technologies can displace familiar ones, changed customer preferences and social expectations can endanger business models for companies that do not react to this in a timely manner and take countermeasures.

According to the TCFD, physical risks resulting from climate change are one of the two key climate-related risk sources that companies and financial institutions should consider in their strategy, risk management and reporting. A distinction is made between an increasing frequency and intensity of acute extreme weather events (e.g. heat waves, storms, floods) and longer-term chronic changes in mean values and fluctuation ranges of various climate variables (e.g. temperature, precipitation amounts, sea level).

ESG Architecture & Data Management

The IT architecture maps the organisation and processes of a financial institution and thus forms the foundation for compliant and audit-proof implementation in a system-supported operation. Therefore, in addition to specialist advice, we offer explicit advice in the area of architecture and provider management. The targens service portfolio covers the entire process from the requirements survey together with the departments, through the architecture and solution design to the implementation with selected technologies.

Requirements in the context of ESG affect a large number of departments in the bank. Therefore, a holistically conceived implementation of the requirements in the existing IT architecture and the development of a suitable data warehouse is essential in order to obtain the most homogeneous and automated data supply possible across the entire institution. In addition to the definition of automatic reports for regulatory reporting or control, the expansion of processes to create appropriate data input media and the creation of an ESG data management framework are essential components for a successful implementation.

ESG data is considered one of the major challenges in meeting current regulatory and strategic requirements. It is therefore often a decision to receive data from an external provider in addition to collecting data in your own processes. The market for these providers has grown continuously in recent years and has become more confusing due to the large number of offerings. For this reason, the data provided by the providers must be analysed and checked against the technical requirements in terms of models, quality and coverage as part of a selection process.

ESG Management

Sustainability risks have an effect on all classic risk types and have to be considered there. The regulatory requirements therefore force financial institutes to implement a holistic integration of ESG risks into the overall bank management. The active controlling of the ESG risks inside the credit portfolio is a challenge and an opportunity at the same time: On the one hand matters of objective assessment and implementation into the existing IT architecture have to be tackled, on the other hand this move offers further consulting and earnings potentials.

Scoring and ratings are used to assess how extensively and sustainably companies and funds take existing sustainability criteria into account. There are currently many different providers of such ratings on the market, some of which differ greatly in the calculation of the respective score.

Impact management describes a forward-looking approach that integrates impact considerations into every phase of the investment process. This focus aims to better understand the impact of an investment and thus optimise the social and environmental impact.

Just Contact Us.

The consultants of the Competence Center would gladly like to help you.

Become part of the team!

Contact

ESG & Sustainable Finance

ESG & Sustainable Finance

Nachhaltigkeit spielt in der Finanzbranche eine immer wichtigere Rolle. Mehr als alles andere stehen drei simple Buchstaben für diese Entwicklung: ESG – Environment, Social & Governance. Das Competence Center ESG & Sustainable Finance berät Finanzinstitute, wenn es um die Belange von ESG, also Umwelt, Soziales und rechtliche sowie selbstdefinierte, organisatorische Rahmenbedingungen geht. Der Fokus liegt dabei neben Themen wie der Portfoliosteuerung und dem Risikomanagement auf der Beratung bei regulatorischen Anforderungen mit starken Auswirkungen auf Daten, Prozesse und Systeme des Finanzinstituts.

Beispiele hierfür sind die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung, die CRR-Offenlegung oder die Erweiterung des Risikomanagements um neue Anforderungen wie Stresstests und Szenario-Analysen.

Gerne unterstützt das Competence Center ESG & Sustainable Finance Kunden hierbei vom Projektmanagement über die fachliche und IT-technische Konzeption, die Anpassung der bestehenden IT-Landschaft bis hin zum laufenden Run-and-Change von ESG-Anwendungen.


Regulatory & Reporting

Im Rahmen des EU-Aktionsplans „Sustainable Finance“ wurden durch die Regulatorik zusätzliche Reportingpflichten für Unternehmen ins Leben gerufen. Hierbei werden nicht nur bereits bestehende Reportingpflichten verschärft, sondern auch neue geschaffen.

Die Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) erweitert die bestehenden Regeln zur nichtfinanziellen Berichterstattung von Unternehmen erheblich. Neben einer Ausweitung der Berichtspflicht auf alle größeren Unternehmen in der EU und alle Kapitalmarktorientierten (bis auf Kleinstunternehmen), umfasst die CSRD auch Verschärfungen in Bezug auf die zu berichtenden Inhalte so z.B. der doppelte Wesentlichkeitsaspekt (doppelte Materialität).

Die EU-Taxonomie ist ein Klassifizierungsinstrument anhand dessen wirtschaftliche Tätigkeiten, bei Einhaltung bestimmter technischer Parameter als nachhaltig eingestuft werden können. Ziel ist es, eine europaweit einheitliche Definition von nachhaltigen wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeiten zu schaffen um gegenüber Investoren Transparenz zu schaffen.

Anhand nachhaltigkeitsbezogener Anforderungen und Offenlegungspflichten für Finanzinstitute wird Anlegern die Möglichkeit gegeben besser informierte Entscheidungen zu treffen. Finanzinstitute sind daher ab März 2021 verpflichtet spezifische Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Kennzahlen (ESG) offenzulegen, um verschiedene Finanzprodukte vergleichbar zu machen.

Die CRR-Verordnung enthält verschiedene regulatorische Anforderungen an Banken. Neben Regelungen zum Eigenkapital und Liquidität wird im Rahmen von CRR II von der Europäischen Bankenaufsichtsbehörde (EBA) ab 2022 auch die Offenlegung von Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Risiken (ESG) im Rahmen der Säule 3 der Verordnung verlangt. Mehr zum Thema CRR II gibt es im Competence Center Regulatory Reporting.

Vom 1. Januar 2023 an werden Unternehmen durch das bundesweite Lieferkettensorgfaltspflichtgesetz (LkSG) in die Pflicht genommen, um Transparenz entlang ihrer Lieferkette zu schaffen. Primäres Ziel des Gesetzes ist der Schutz der Menschenrechte durch, z.B. die Eliminierung von Kinder- bzw. Zwangsarbeit. Daher müssen Unternehmen ihre Geschäftspartner einer weitreichenden Risikoprüfung unterziehen. Die targens-Lösung JARDIN unterstützt sie dabei.

ESG Risikomanagement

Das klassische Risikomanagement im Unternehmen befindet sich derzeit in einer Transformation. Durch verschiedene Methoden wird versucht, Risiken die aus Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren resultieren zu integrieren und somit die finanziellen Auswirkungen von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken greifbar zu machen.

Stresstests können insbesondere Sensitivitäts- und Szenario-Analysen zur Untersuchung der Widerstandsfähigkeit des Unternehmens infolge widriger Ereignisse oder Szenarien, verursacht durch physische sowie transitorische Risiken, umfassen. Anhand plausibler künftiger Entwicklungen arbeiten verschiedene Organisationen an klimabezogenen Stresstests die unternehmensindividuelle Verwendung finden sollen.

Transitionsrisiken bestehen im Zusammenhang mit der Umstellung auf eine kohlenstoffarme Wirtschaft. So können beispielsweise politische Maßnahmen zu einer Verteuerung und/oder Verknappung fossiler Energieträger führen oder zu hohen Investitionskosten aufgrund erforderlicher Sanierungen von Gebäuden und Anlagen. Neue Technologien können bekannte verdrängen, veränderte Kundenpräferenzen und gesellschaftliche Erwartungen können Geschäftsmodelle von den Unternehmen gefährden, die hierauf nicht rechtzeitig reagieren und gegensteuern.

Aus dem Klimawandel resultierende physische Risiken sind gemäß der TCFD eine der beiden zentralen klimabezogenen Risikoquellen, die von Unternehmen und Finanzinstituten in deren Strategie, Risikomanagement und Berichterstattung berücksichtigt werden sollten. Unterschieden wird dabei zwischen einer zunehmenden Häufung und Intensität von akuten Extremwetterereignissen (z.B. Hitzewellen, Stürme, Überschwemmungen) und längerfristigen chronischen Änderungen von Mittelwerten und Schwankungsbreiten verschiedener Klimavariablen (z.B. Temperatur, Niederschlagsmengen, Meeresspiegel).

ESG Architecture & Data Management

Die IT-Architektur bildet die Organisation und Prozesse eines Finanzinstituts ab und bildet somit das Fundament für die regelkonforme und revisionssicher Umsetzung in einem systemgestützten Betrieb. Neben der Fachberatung bieten wir daher explizite Beratung im Bereich Architektur und Providermanagement an. Die targens Leistung umfasst den gesamten Prozess von der Anforderungserhebung gemeinsam mit den Fachbereichen, über das Architektur und Solution Design bis hin zur Umsetzung mit ausgewählten Technologien.

Anforderungen im Kontext ESG betreffen eine Vielzahl von Bereichen der Bank. Eine ganzheitlich gedachte Implementierung der Anforderungen in die bestehende IT-Architektur sowie der Aufbau eines passenden Datenhaushalts ist daher unerlässlich, um über das gesamte Institut eine möglichst homogene und automatisierte Datenversorgung zu erhalten. Neben der Definition von automatischen Berichten für regulatorisches Reporting oder die Steuerung sind auch die Erweiterung von Prozessen zur Schaffung entsprechender Eingabemedien von Daten sowie die Erstellung eines ESG-Data-Management Frameworks essentieller Bestandteil für eine erfolgreiche Implementierung.

ESG-Daten gelten als eine der großen Herausforderung zur Erfüllung aktueller regulatorischer und strategischer Anforderungen. Häufig ist es daher Entscheiden neben der Erhebung in den eigenen Prozessen Daten von einem externen Provider zu erhalten. Der Markt an diesen Providern ist in den letzten Jahren kontinuierlich gewachsen und durch die Vielzahl an Angeboten unübersichtlicher geworden. Aus diesem Grund müssen im Rahmen eines Auswahlprozesses die von den Anbietern zur Verfügung gestellten Daten analysiert und hinsichtlich Modellen, Qualität und Abdeckung gegen die fachlichen Anforderungen geprüft werden.

ESG Management

Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken beeinflussen alle klassischen Risikoarten und sind dort zu berücksichtigen. Die regulatorischen Anforderungen zwingen Kreditinstitute daher zu einer ganzheitlichen Integration von ESG-Risiken in die Gesamtbanksteuerung. Das aktive Steuern des ESG-Risikos im Kreditportfolio ist Herausforderung und Chance zugleich: Es sind einerseits Fragestellungen der objektiven Bewertung und der Implementierung in die bestehende IT-Architektur zu lösen, andererseits ergeben sich daraus zusätzliche Beratungs- und Ertragspotentiale.

Anhand von Scorings und Ratings wird bewertet, wie umfangreich und nachhaltig Unternehmen und Fonds bestehende Nachhaltigkeitskriterien berücksichtigen. Derzeit gibt es viele verschiedene Anbieter solcher Ratings am Markt, die sich in der Berechnung der jeweiligen Score teilweise stark unterscheiden.

Das Impact Management beschreibt einen zukunftsorientierten Ansatz, der Impact-Erwägungen in jede Phase des Anlageprozesses einbindet. Mit diesem Fokus wird bezweckt, die Auswirkungen einer Investition besser zu verstehen und somit die sozialen und ökologischen Auswirkungen zu optimieren.

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Die Berater des Competence Centers helfen Ihnen gern weiter.

Werde Teil unseres Teams!

Kontakt